• Archives

The Grey Vest

Since my move to the hills, I have been collecting patterns for vests, cardigans, sweaters. The best part is choosing the right pattern to make. I have never made a garment for an adult so far and so thought I should crochet a sweater for myself. Meanwhile, the spouse looking at some of my stash one day remarked that I should make a vest for him. Surprised that he should ask for one, I began in right earnest. The pattern from Interweave Crochet “October Vest” by Tracy St.John called out to me. Having not made any adult garment before, I also did a swatch for gauge for the first time. ☺
As I did not have a similar yarn used in the pattern, I went with a thinner yarn that I had in my stash. I thought it would not be enough and asked a friend if the number of balls I had would suffice. She confirmed my doubt that it would not suffice. However, I just went ahead with the vest in the hope that the shop from where I got it will have some more balls of the same color.
But, voila, the vest got finished and I have one skein remaining too. Don’t ask me how. ☺ Anyway the vest fits the recipient to a T and he is happy with it.

Grey Vest


As I am now confident that I can make adult clothing satisfactorily I am going to churn out a few more soon.
Last week when I was arranging my stash, I picked out a few skeins of yarn and made this rainbow bag. This pattern will be a great stash-buster.
Last but not the least, I participated in the CAL/KAL for bags in the SAARC group. I had a few knitted squares and made Inga’s Haekelbeutel once again.
Here’s is the Leafy Haekelbeutel that I made.

Leafy bag


The CAL/KAL s don’t end here. I am also participating in the Amigurumi CAL/KAL and will post some critters soon.

Leave a Reply

