• Archives

R(a)evelry

From the day I joined Ravelry, I have been addicted to it. So much so that whenever I sit at the computer the kids ask me if l was checking out ravelry. Ravelry can also be blamed for my not updating my blogs as regularly as I used to. πŸ™‚ This post is long overdue and now that I have returned after our revelry in Bangalore, I thought I would share our shopping experience with fellow ravelers who didn’t join us when we went silk yarn shopping.
The day after I reached Bangalore I accompanied my sister-in-law to Raja Market where Sanhita had taken me earlier to shop. We found the shop quite easily and quickly filled bags with the “yummy” acrylic which was stacked in myriad colors. πŸ™‚
Then since I wanted Laura cotton, I took directions from Sanhita for Bharat Fancy store and just when I was about to give up the search spotted it. So I got us some Laura cotton and was about to leave when we got caught in a torrential downpour. We were stranded for close to 45 minutes and we literally waded our way out from the market.
I gotVardhman Variegated
Vardhman Millenium Since this is going to be a picture heavy post, I am not posting rest of the bounty. πŸ™‚
The day dawned bright and sunny on the day we ravelers met, but somehow the weatherman knew I was going to go yarn shopping again. After we got in the car and reached Silkindian a downpour began and we all rushed inside the shop just short of getting drenched.
Revellers
Silk yarn
We went berserk unable to choose from the lot and had fun discussing what to make with the different weights of yarn. Finally I picked up Leann’s yarn Sari silk yarn in variegated and Shilpa’s 15/3 spun silk
Spun silk
Last but not the least I picked up sari silk yarn to make a purse more out of curiosity. Sari silk
It has transformed into a purse and would be another blog post soon.
We left Silkindian with lighter purses and heavier bags. The rain let up just to let us have our show and tell at CCD, where we literally lost track of time chatting about everything under the sun. Suma and me got dropped off at a point and struggled to find an auto. Just as we found one and took off the rain took off too and we were stranded again for an hour in the downpour in heavy traffic (wonder which was heavier!) πŸ™‚
However, it was so much fun meeting all like minded crafters and it sure was revelry all the way.:)

4 Responses

  1. Love that brilliant blue yarn! And the happy expressions of the revellers!

  2. I can’t believe that I have seen your posts on Ravelry this often but I didn’t know you had such a lovely blog. Great yarn pictures – isn’t the silk just gorgeous. I snapped up a few skeins from SilkIndian this past summer and they’re such beauties!

  3. the yarn pictures are just so gorgeous. You gals are so lucky!!wish I were there too πŸ™‚

  4. Hi,

    I received the link to your blog from a friend and I was curious about the locations of the shops that you have mentioned. I am fascinated by the yarn that you have picked up. Could you please post the address of the shops or the location? I am familiar with the shops in Raja market but have never come across such beautiful silk yarn.. Thanks in advance

Leave a Reply

