• Archives

  • Free Patterns

Trying a new yarn…

It has been a while since I blogged. I had too much work on my hands. Apart from the regular routine of running the house and picking up after the children, I had several projects which were on needles and hooks to be tested. And one day I came across Bonnie (knitbunnie) looking for people to test her yarn. Adventurous after testing the paper yarn I wrote to her that I would be interested in testing her yarns.
The next week saw me drooling over my package from Bonnie which had lovely balls of cotton thread (size 5) balls and Wraphia (rayon-paper) yarn in three different colors. I took close to week deciding what to make as I wanted to make anything and everything I found on ravelry. Finally, I decided to go with the time tested granny. And granny it was. I first made cell phone case with the wraphia. But I was not too impressed with the outcome.
Jazmin (Russian Cotton)
However, I began the granny square bag. Since it would turn out to be quite a large bag, I was wondering if I would have enough yarn. So I also used the Hamanaka yarn which is a different brand of Rayon-paper yarn gifted to me by S.
Wraphia Bag
PICT2387
The bag turned out quite well. If only I could better my sewing skills, I would have lined the bag in a better way. May be I should invest in a machine now. πŸ™‚ If the spouse reads this he would mutter to himself “To add to all the existing junk” πŸ™‚ This month I also got quite a number of crochet books to my already staggering bookshelf. Linda (limberlostgirl) a fellow raveller sent me lovely back issues of Magic Crochet, Crochet Fantasy and a couple of doily books. My sister sent me the spring issue of Interweave Crochet and S got me The Best of Interweave Knits. Thank you guys.
Last but not the least, we had a great time at the ravelry meet at the Taj, where we bade farewell to Leann (bnanie) who is leaving for Boston this month. She gifted us all some yummy sock yarn, which is now awaiting me to cast on. Thank you Leann, we will all miss you at our next meet.
Happy ravellers

3 Responses

  1. Ah, glad to see this, I knew I had good taste! πŸ˜€

  2. Nice bag…u should try the bag in the Spring issue of Interweave Crochet…

    BTW…is that Hari in the picture behind you???

  3. This is a beautiful bag!

Leave a Reply

